Magento – 403 Forbidden on Post to app/etc/local.xml

Found several instances in the NGINX error log where an HTTP Post was being made to app/etc/local.xml.

Screen Shot 2015-05-20 at 5.06.46 PM

Turns out this is a feature!  Magento performs a sanity check by attempting a POST to this file regularly.  If the POST succeeds, the Administrator is notified on the backend.

This caught my eye when I noticed it in the log file, so I wanted to remind myself should I forget (which I often do).

Leave a Reply

